Let me introduce myself

daithespy

Let me introduce myself

Postby daithespy » Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:59 pm

Hi, my name's Dai, and I've just purchased a 1994 European-spec, non-ABS GTS1000 on eBay. I haven't even seen it in the flesh yet; it will be delivered to my address in Scotland sometime in the next fortnight. The bike looks scruffy, has a slight misfire at around 2500-3000 rpm, and needs tlc, but I'm confident that with the collective knowledge of this forum, and my skills (I'm an electronics technician, and submersible engineer), we can get the bike going well.
The GTS1000 has been one of my top five dream bikes for a long time, so having the opportunity to buy one at a price I could afford was an opportunity not to be missed. I'm a little concerned about the weight of the bike. I'm only 5'6", with an inside leg of 30". I found the ST1100 too cumbersome for me, but I think the GTS wears its weight lower down. I had no trouble with a 1979 Honda CB750KZ, and my other current bikes are a Yamaha Diversion 600, a Suzuki400 Bandit, and a 1976 BMW R75/6. I'll just have to wait and see if I can get on with this bike. I hope I can!

isle of wight
Private First Class

Re: Let me introduce myself

Postby isle of wight » Thu Aug 24, 2017 9:03 pm

Hi Dai,

Where did you find it? I too have dreamt of owning a GTS and only recently picked one up. First thing I noticed was how bloody heavy it was!!! However that weight doesn't seem to transfer itself to the road. After my first nervous couple of miles it was fine.
May the 16th shall now be known as GTS day

daithespy

Postby daithespy » Sat Aug 26, 2017 9:54 am

It was an eBay purchase. The bike sat there at £1000 with no bids for 7 days, so in the last couple of hours I placed a bid, and won it for £1040! It's not perfect, but it does run, it has an MoT, and it's complete. That's good enough for me!

isle of wight
Private First Class

Postby isle of wight » Sat Aug 26, 2017 3:15 pm